The Ministry of Pain by Dubravka Ugresic

This review continues with my personal mission to read a variety of Croatian novels. The reasoning behind my mission is something of a long story but I hope that my review of the following novel clearly conveys my feelings and intentions. Although I found this one at the library, I am dying to get my paws on a copy of my very own!

On the Docket: The Ministry of Pain by Dubravka Ugresic (Translated by Michael Henry Heim)

Genre: Translated / Literary Fiction

Publisher’s Blurb: “Having fled the violent breakup of Yugoslavia, Tanja Lucic is now a professor of literature at the University of Amsterdam, where she teaches a class filled with other young Yugoslav exiles, most of whom earn meager wages assembling leather and rubber S&M clothing at a sweatshop they call the “Ministry.” Abandoning literature, Tanja encourages her students to indulge their “Yugonostalgia” in essays about their personal experiences during their homeland’s cultural and physical disintegration. But Tanja’s act of academic rebellion incites the rage of one renegade member of her class—and pulls her dangerously close to another—which, in turn, exacerbates the tensions of a life in exile that has now begun to spiral seriously out of control.”

First Impressions: Five million stars. Bravo. Well done. Superb. I feel like everything I could possibly say about this novel wouldn’t do it any justice. This book is one of the most satisfying and insightful reads of the entire year, possibly my whole life. What does Oprah call it? A eureka moment?

Where do I begin?

I’ve been sitting at the computer for far too long, trying to put into words how I feel about this book but I haven’t a clue where to start or how to express myself. This is an unusual feeling. Let me start by saying that I completed this novel last week, so I’ve had time to mull my thoughts over in my brain. I hope I can organize my ideas well enough to articulate them here in my review.

The Ministry of Pain explained many things for me, shone a spotlight on people in my life, highlighted and clarified behaviour that was very familiar. The prose was incredibly accessible yet unbearably accurate. With every sentence, people, places, and things became real in my mind, places that had only been described on the news or by family members. I couldn’t help but smile at the words “Yugonostalgia” and “Yugo genes” because both terms, and the strolls down memory lane they inevitably ignited, in relationship to my life and my family, were utterly compelling.

Family history aside, Ugresic’s prose is so crisp, so sharp, that it cuts through all the traditional notions of melancholy like a jackhammer. Tanja Lucic is one of the most intelligent, complex, fascinating characters I’ve encountered in years. Her sense of self (or lack of) is so pathetic but frustratingly truthful, that you cannot help but feel compassion for her and her students. I absolutely loved the idea of including the work and/or essays of Tanja’s students, their childhood interpretations of communism, nationalism, and what it means to feel a sense of belonging. The feelings of homelessness and displacement, as well as the inaccuracy of language, are undeniable but Ugresic articulates the concept with a bullseye of clarity:

That’s why I have the feeling I’m learning from scratch here [in Amsterdam]. And it’s not easy. I’m constantly on the lookout for breathing spaces to deal with the fact that I can’t express what I have in mind. And there’s the larger question of whether a language that hasn’t learned to depict reality, complex as the inner experience of that reality may be, is capable of doing anything at all—telling stories, for instance.

And I was a literature teacher.”

Igor was another riveting character. (Actually, they were all riveting but if I thoroughly analyzed each one, this would be a 30 page essay and not a review!) Igor was the driving force behind Ugresic’s intense novel, and represents the duality of the “Yugonostalgia” experience so perfectly. I think you’ll be shocked by him as well, but just as fascinated.

Final Verdict: I am not likely to forget The Ministry of Pain. Ever. It will remain prominent in my mind for many years to come. Also, I forgot to mention the translation, which was absolutely, positively incredible. Translated fiction is often an effort between a writer and a linguist, a combination that I think has the potential to enhance the original story or change its original meaning. I was incredibly impressed by Heim. He did a magnificent job.

16 thoughts on “The Ministry of Pain by Dubravka Ugresic

  1. HOOOOOOORAY!!! I haven’t read this book yet but I LOVED the two Dubravka Ugresic books that I did read. In fact, after reading one book she immediately became one of my top 5 authors. I am SO happy to see that you loved this!!

    I now want it. Immediately.

    By the way, I highly recommend her collection of essays ‘Thank you For Not Reading’, it was incredible.

  2. I agree that a good translation can make all the difference.

    It sounds like reading this book was a very personal experience for you but it still sounds appealing to me, even though I’m not very familiar with the subject matter.

    Nice cover too…

    • I think the beauty of Ugresic’s prose is that the story she presents is so universal, that everyone can connect with the idea of homelessness that she describes.

      Beautifully done.

      It is a great cover.

  3. This sounds fantastic (although I always go weak when I hear the main character is a literature lecturer, professor, academic or anything to do with uni!). I’ve just realised I have no idea about Slavic lit. And a review that rewards anything with five miilion stars is worth investigating. :-)

  4. I loved this book and my book group (a highly critical group!) loved it, too.
    I went to croatia last year and did some digging to find croatian writers translated into english. Another excellent writer I can recommend is Slavenka Drakulic (The Taste of a Man). Happy reading!

    • Ugresic is my new favourite writer. :)
      Funny you should mention Drakulic; I just checked out Cafe Europa from the library this afternoon! (Although, I’ll have to check out The Taste of A Man…)

      Thank you for visiting!

  5. Pingback: Oh I should get that, or Additions to my Wishlist #5 « Kinna Reads

  6. Pingback: Zagreb Exit South by Edo Popovic | The Literary Lollipop

  7. Pingback: 10 Croatian/Serbian Writers Available in English | The Literary Lollipop

  8. I think that the advantages of Yugoslav unity, solidarity and culture and level of economic development would be something much richer countries could only dream of. I think any deeper analysis would direclty reveal the potential of a flexible model for a beneluxm type re-integration of the Yugoslav countries in the first stage and then followed by the model of the European Economic Community and the EU in the second or third phase. Such a society would be far a more powerful political and economic entity and negotiator in the European and global scene. I fully support the initiative to rebuild the former Yugoslavia on a flexible basis where all people enjoyed sovereignty and where they drew together all the possibilities that a broader integration provides, especially in conditions of prolonged and the now decade-long global crisis.

    • I certainly don’t know enough about the subject to offer an opinion, and it’s been several years since I’ve read this book, but thank you for your comments. (The only knowledge I’ve accumulated over the years is from family and books.)

  9. Pingback: Thank You For Not Reading by Dubravka Ugrešić | The Literary Lollipop

Leave a Reply

