55 Quirky Questions for Readers

I created a fun little questionnaire to determine my (and others) reading personality. My conclusions are vague and hardly scientific (hah!), but I think it’s safe to say that my book addiction is here to stay. Feel free to cut and paste the questionnaire onto your own blogs, or if you would like to add a question, please do so! Did I miss anything? Let me know! Change it around or leave as is… it’s up to you.

1. Favourite childhood book: Nate the Great series

2. What are you reading right now? Be Nice by Anabel Donald

3. What books do you have on request at the library? Girl Crazy by Russell Smith and Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia

4. Bad book habit: very high library fines. Eeek.

5. What do you currently have checked out at the library? The Rachel Papers by Martin Amis.

6. Do you have an e-reader? No. I haven’t been able to make the leap yet.

7. Do you prefer to read one book at a time, or several at once? For school, I had to read 3 or 4 books simultaneously. Now that I’m finished, I stick to one, two maximum.

8. Have your reading habits changed since starting a blog? Yes! The recommendations that come from my fellow bloggers have led me to some fantastic fiction I might never have found.

9.Least favourite book you read this year: Everything is Illuminated by Jonathan Safran Foer

10. Favourite book I’ve read this year: The Ministry of Pain by Dubravka Ugresic.

11. How often do you read out of your comfort zone? I’d say 20% of what I read is out of my usual go-to “safe” genres.

12. What is your reading comfort zone? Fiction. Theory and philosophy make me nervous.

13. Can you read on the bus? Yes, though sometimes I get nauseous.

14. Favourite place to read: the balcony during the summer.

15. What’s your policy on book lending? I prefer to lend a book after I’ve had a chance to read it, though that doesn’t always work out.

16. Do you dogear your books? Yes.

17. Do you write notes in the margins of your books? Yes, but only in extreme situations. My copy of Erica Jong’s Fear of Flying is highlighted and has several notes throughout the margins. I agreed with every word!

18. Do you break/crack the spine of your books? I avoid it at all costs.

19. What is your favourite language to read? English is my mother tongue, so I guess this isn’t a surprise (and, with help, French)

20. What makes you love a book? The characters make or break a story for me.

21. What will inspire you to recommend a book? If the novel has changed my opinion on something or expanded my knowledge of an intriguing subject, I will be tempted to spread it around.

22. Favourite genre: psychological thrillers

23. Genre you rarely read (but wish you did): drama/plays

24. Favourite Biography: Natalie Wood by Gavin Lambert

25. Have you ever read a self-help book? (And, was it actually helpful?) I’m in the process of reading Soul Craft by Bill Plotkin, which is actually very inspiring and full of great ideas for meditation, etc.

26. Favourite Cookbook: The Eat Clean Cookbook by Tosca Reno.

27. Most inspirational book you’ve read this year (fiction or non-fiction): Judith by Aritha Van Herk

28. Favourite reading snack: liquorice

29. Name a case in which hype ruined your reading experience: New Moon & Breaking Dawn (books 2 and 4 in the Twilight saga).

30. How often do you agree with the critics about about a book? Rarely. For whatever reason, I usually have the opposite reaction to the “official critics” about both fiction and film. Go figure.

31. How do you feel about giving bad/negative reviews? If it’s my honest opinion, I’m okay with it, though I have absolutely no intention of being malicious. Honesty is just very important to me. I hope that I’ve never discouraged anyone from reading a book.

32. If you could read in a foreign language, which language would you choose? Croatian or Russian.

33. Most intimidating book I’ve read: I’m currently reading Middlemarch by George Eliot! So far, so good. It’s a little slow, but it has its juicy moments.

34. Most intimidating book I’m too nervous to begin: Ulysses by James Joyce

35. Favourite Poet: Sylvia Plath

36. How many books do you usually have checked out from the library at any given time? 8-10 (used to be 15-20…)

37. How often do you return books to the library unread? Half are usually unread.

38. Favourite fictional character: Dolores Haze, aka Lolita

39. Favourite fictional villain: Dexter

40. Books I’m most likely to bring on vacation: YA or mass market paperback thrillers

41. The longest I’ve gone without reading: When I finished school, my brain was fried for about 2 months. I didn’t touch anything thicker than a magazine for quite some time.

42. Name a book you could/would not finish: Ghosted by Shaughnessy Bishop-Stall; I started it earlier this summer but the characters were annoyingly masochistic. Maybe it was the story, I’m not sure. I just couldn’t get into it.

43. What distracts you easily when you’re reading? If the television volume is too loud, the sentences on the page get mixed up with the voices in the air.

44. Favourite film adaptation of a novel: The Constant Gardner

45. Most disappointing film adaptation: Savage Grace (I’ve only read 1/2 the non-fiction crime book, but the movie did not do it justice. Don’t get me wrong, Julianne Moore was fantastic, but the overall film was somewhat lackluster.)

46. Most money I’ve ever spent in a bookstore at one time: $100CDN

47. How often do you skim a book before reading it? 100% of the time!

48. What would cause you to stop reading a book halfway through? If the plot feels circular and if the characters are horrifically offensive. Usually, if a book makes me angry, I’ll put it back on the shelf or return it to the library. Sometimes I’ll continue reading at a later date, but sometimes I give up.

49. Do you like to keep your books organized? I used to, but now they’re in random piles and stuffed in boxes.

50. Do you prefer to keep books or give them away once they’ve been read? Depends on the book. I’ll keep classics, but I’ll usually give away my paperback thrillers. If a book has affected me deeply, I like to have a copy for future reference.

51. Are there any books that you’ve been avoiding? Precious by Sapphire. The prospect of reading this book makes me want to cry. My friend loaned it to me and I would like to read it, but it sounds so heartbreaking. I’ll eventually read it, but it’ll take me some time.

52. Name a book that made you angry: Osama Van Halen

53. A book I didn’t expect to like but did: The Secret Agent by Joseph Conrad.

54. A book I expected to like but didn’t: Everything is Illuminated by Jonathan Safran Foer

55. Favourite guilt-free guilty pleasure reading: John Grisham & Wendy Corsi Staub.

Do you want to take the quiz? Go ahead and post the questionnaire on your blog! Or, feel free to add questions in the comments! This is all in good fun, but I’m always curious to hear about the quirks and habits of other readers!

Button Now Available!


67 thoughts on “55 Quirky Questions for Readers

  1. Oooo…I like your answers! I am going to do this on my blog maybe next week.

    My goal this weekend is to get back on track with Middlemarch. Oddly enough, where I am now is about where I gave up last time I tried to read it so I’m really hoping to break through and finish it this time. You have been so wonderful with your conversations about it. I am actually enjoying it this time through!

    • Thanks! Thought it might be fun!

      I’m so glad you’re enjoying Middlemarch. It’s been fun being able to discuss it with other readers. This week’s post was a little skimpy (only two chapters) but I can’t believe I’m already 550+ pages into it! Who would have thought? We’ll be very proud of our accomplishment when we’re finished. :)

  2. Hey, very fun. I just love answering questions like these.

    I loved The Constant Gardener book and enjoyed the film, though I do sometimes wonder if I’d have understood it without the book? They cut some things out. That’s the hard thing about reading the book first sometimes. It was made so well, everything was just how I imagined, so it was a little confusing when they cut things out that I’d clearly imagined in my head.

  3. Pingback: rulethewaves.net » Blog Archive » Meme: Book Questionnaire

  4. I had majoy problems with Breaking Dawn as well. Wanted to fling the book at the wall a lot of the time.

    And how could you dislike Everything is Illuminated as your favourite read this year, I loved that book? :P

    • Me too! Renesmee????? Where do I begin? Babies? I – I – was speechless. I didn’t know what to say.

      I don’t know about Everything is Illuminated… The first 10 pages were hilarious but then the rest of it just bothered me. I don’t think I was the right reader for that one. It rubbed me the wrong way. My best friend loved it and recommended that I read it but I just couldn’t get into it. :)

  5. Great questionnaire- so much fun! :)
    I read 3-4 books simultaneously. I probably should stick to one but I just can’t help it.
    And my favorite childhood book? The Little Prince. It’s still one of my all times favorite…
    I’ve never seen the The Constant Gardner- I must get the DVD!

  6. Great questionnaire…I think I’m going to snatch a fer for my blog if that’s ok.

    I can never read more than one book except for collage. Weird, huh? ;)

  7. Pingback: The Bookkeeper » 55 quirky questions for readers, part 3

  8. Pingback: 55 Quirky Questions for Readers: Part 1 «

  9. Pingback: Books About Book Quiz Books About

  10. Pingback: 55 Quirky Questions for Readers: Part 2 «

  11. Pingback: Book Habits Questionnaire « Liberty Falls Down

  12. Pingback: My Book Habits « Carole Finds Her Wings

  13. Pingback: The Bookkeeper » 55 quirky questions for readers, part 5

  14. Pingback: The Bookkeeper » 55 Quirky questions for readers, part 1

  15. Pingback: The Bookkeeper » 55 quirky questions for readers, part 2

  16. Pingback: A Sexy Survey for Readers | The Literary Lollipop

  17. Pingback: A Sexy Survey for Readers | The Literary Lollipop

  18. Pingback: Reading is Sexy « The Bookworm Chronicles

  19. Pingback: getting to know your blogger | Girls in the Stacks.com

  20. Pingback: The Literary Lollipop’s 55 Quirky Questions « The Book Coop

  21. Pingback: Stats Galore « The Literary Lollipop

  22. Pingback: Books! « The Heretical Church Mouse

  23. Pingback: 55 Questions About Reading and Books – Part 1 | Icy Cold Reads

  24. Pingback: 55 Quirky Bookish Questions | The Bumbling Bookworm

  25. Pingback: 55 Questions About Reading and Books – Part 2 | Icy Cold Reads

  26. Pingback: Get to know me a bit better…55 (!) Bookish questions! | Chrissi Reads

  27. Pingback: 55 Quirky Questions for Readers | bookchicblog

  28. Pingback: 55 Bookish Questions: Get to know a little bit about me! | Girl in the Pages

  29. Pingback: 55 Bookish Questions | Luna’s Little Library

  30. Pingback: 55 Bookish Questions | Darcy's Book Blog

  31. Pingback: 55 Questions for Readers (part 1) | 52 letters in the alphabet

  32. Pingback: 55 Questions for Readers (part 2) | 52 letters in the alphabet

  33. Pingback: Some bookish Questions | A Bit Behind on Books

  34. Pingback: 55 Bookish Questions: A Survey | Brin's Book Blog

  35. Pingback: 55 Quirky Questions for Readers! | craftypalooza

  36. Pingback: Inquisitive Wednesday– Quirky Questions for Readers, Part 1 | Spiral-Bound

  37. Pingback: 55 Questions Concerning My Book Habits | Exploring Classics

  38. Pingback: 55 Questions About Reading – Part 2 – Scarlett's Book Blog

  39. Pingback: Inquisitive Wednesday– Quirky Questions for Readers, Part 2 | Spiral-Bound

  40. Pingback: Inquisitive Wednesday– Quirky Questions for Readers, Part 3 | Spiral-Bound

  41. Pingback: 55 Quirky Questions for Readers | caffeinatedlife.net

  42. Pingback: 55 Questions About My Book Habits | A Passion for Dead Leaves

  43. Pingback: Let's Get to Know Each Other - Nose Stuck in a Book

  44. Pingback: 55 Bookish Questions (That You Likely Don't Care About) - It Starts at MidnightIt Starts at Midnight

Leave a Reply

