Operation Cold Turkey 2012

As readers, we’re naturally curious. We drink it up, digest all the information we can get our hands on… which eventually leads us to purchase a multitude of books we couldn’t possibly consume in a year (or, even two). Everything looks so interesting! We can’t help ourselves.

Eventually, we have to realize that we can’t read everything; let’s face it, the bottom of our TBR pile will never see the light of day. There is simply not enough time to read every single book on our list. English, American, Greek and popular literature… Knowing that our options are endless is how I came to be the proud (but slightly overwhelmed) owner of too many books. Boxes and boxes. Shelves and shelves. When I step foot into a bookstore, the calming effect of paper settles into my bones, and I convince myself that I’ll miss a great experience if I neglect to read every single page under that roof. As a result, I find myself waiting in line, books and credit card in hand, feeling excited but guilty by my purchases.

I’ve never attempted a year-long book ban, but here goes. I will not allow any exceptions, nor will I accept ARCs. To make this even more challenging, and ultimately more effective, the library will also be off limits. It’s imperative that I stay focused. Any and all distractions will only add to my growing problem.

I’ve also enlisted several of my friends to keep me from buying a single book. Along with a severe dose of self-discipline and will power, they have agreed to keep me in check. I cannot, under any circumstances, purchase one more book. It’s time to stop the insanity! My goal is to read at least 100 books this year, which will hopefully put a serious dent in my collection.

Stay tuned for monthly updates and reading reports! Accountability is very important to me. Without it, procrastination is an easy excuse to claim. I want to be completely transparent. If I mess up, you’ll be the first to know…

18 thoughts on “Operation Cold Turkey 2012

  1. A whole year… without buying a book? Someone would have to pin my arms against my sides and drag me kicking and screaming but I commend your bravery. I’m trying not to say the ‘ban’ word and instead encourage within me the idea of ‘reduce’. I signed up two a few challenges this year and I think all but 2 of the books I own so that should dent the TBR somewhat. I’ll be reading some books that have been at the bottom of my TBR (and by that I mean they’ve been laying around for about 10 years) so I really hope they’re worth it!

    Good luck with your ban and I hope you keep to it.

    • It’s gonna be tough, but I’m at the point where it’s getting ridiculous. My shelves are overflowing, and I keep buying more…

      Thanks so much; I’ll need all the luck and will power I can get my hands on.

  2. Best of luck. Usually, my wallet forces my hand and won’t let me buy, which is how I ended up with dozens and dozens of the free Kindle books off Amazon. Still, I’m attempting to do the same thing without making it official…

  3. Woah. Good luck and I’ll be cheering for you. I’m also reading from my stacks at present, but not sure how long it will last. And I may say yes to an ARC or two. We shall see. I have full faith in your ability to read your own books without bying any new ones!

  4. Pingback: Buying less | Pechorin’s Journal

  5. Pingback: Cell by Stephen King « The Literary Lollipop

  6. Pingback: Literary Blockbusters 2012 « The Literary Lollipop

  7. Pingback: How to stop buying books (and reclaim your space) « The Literary Lollipop

Leave a Reply

